Opportunity Zone Tax Incentives

When:  Jan 15, 2019 from 2:00 PM to 3:00 PM (ET)

Is this a tax issue or an investment issue?  Yes!  Have your clients asked about Opportunity Zone investments and whether they might be good for them?  When they hear of tax-deferral and tax-free gains, it will peak their interest and they will be asking you about them.  Join us for this educational Tax & Estate Planning Knowledge Circle meeting on Tuesday, January 15, 2pm ET (1pm CT; noon MT; 11am PT)

Did you know that clients can save taxes by deferring capital gain tax, reducing capital gain tax, and eventually avoiding capital gain tax by reinvesting proceeds into an Opportunity Zone property?  Almost all capital gains qualify for tax deferral, including those experienced by partnerships and other pass-thru entities.  Join us to learn:

  • What is an Opportunity Zone?
  • What is a Qualified Opportunity Zone Fund (“QOF”)?
  • How long can the capital gain tax be deferred?
  • When I reinvest into a QOF, what does it take to get tax-free capital gains?
  • How do the tax rules apply to partnerships, LLCs, S Corporations, and estates & trusts?
  • What sort of due diligence should be done on QOF sponsors?

George Shewchuk CPA MST will be educating our financial planning community about this concept created by the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act 2017.  Proposed regulations were issued by the Treasury in October 2018 clarifying many of the questions.  You don’t have to be a member of the Tax/Estate Knowledge Circle:  all FPA members are welcome.  Learn the basics and ask questions in this interactive forum.

George is a Certified Public Accountant, with a Masters of Science in Taxation specializing in corporate formations, structures, business tax planning for privately held companies and high net worth individuals. He received his Bachelor of Science degree in Accounting from San Diego State University and completed his Master of Science in Taxation at Golden Gate University.


Location

Online Instructions:
Url: http://fpa.adobeconnect.com/taxplanningkc/
Login: Please login using your first and last name